• dcandelora

The story of how I became a realtor




Working with the right realtor is so important, and your choice needs to be based on more than just sales record and experience. Whenever I meet with a new potential client, I always encourage them to sign with the agent that they’d be comfortable enough to pick up the phone and call about anything without feeling like a burden. With that in mind, I thought I’d use this blog to tell you a little about myself.


I grew up in Sydney, Cape Breton in a house my parents built and have lived in their entire marriage (48 years). The second oldest of five children, I learned early the value of money and how to get along with people. My first real job was a waitress at Chow Yang Foo restaurant to pay for University at CBU (then UCCB) graduating in 1996 with Business Administration (Accounting Co-op). Cape Breton will always hold a special place in my heart, and I try to go back as often as possible to visit family and soak in the warm Cape Breton spirit.


I thought finance would be my career and worked for several years in accounting for a few different companies but working for Nova Tile and Marble took me reluctantly into a sales role. But as soon as I started, I knew I was hooked.  Sales was my jam!  This role supported myself and my daughter as a single mom until I met my second husband (man I wish I could turn back time).  


The next few years saw me move across the country, get married, move back to Nova Scotia and have my second child (my amazing son, Xander). It was a whirlwind. Although Alberta treated me well I came back to NS to be closer to friends and family. I wanted to be my own boss and create an environment that enabled me to balance my personal life and career.


So, at 35, I passed my exam and became a licensed realtor with RE/MAX nova, the warm and supportive agency I’ve been with ever since. At the time, I was 6 months pregnant, had my son and started right back to work after taking 3 weeks off.  I made my first sale three months later and knew I’d made the right career choice. I was still selling granite countertops but now they came attached to a larger purchase!


I love my work and almost always form lasting relationships with my clients. In fact, I met one of my closest friends on her house hunting trip over 6  years  ago. Although she is now on the other side of the world we talk regularly and are planning our next visit.  I often find myself acting as a counsellor for clients going through rough spots in their relationships or helping them manage through illnesses. And I love it.


When I’m not working, I’m spending time with my kids. Jocelyn is now 19 and attending Acadia University (go, Axemen!) and Xander is 10 and doing all the things that kids do. So proud of my children.  Or I’m running. Running grounds me and give me time to reflect or not think at all. I mainly do short distances but am proud to have completed the Bluenose half-marathon in 2018.


I love to travel. It’s a great way to broaden my horizons, unplug and reconnect with family and friends. It also introduces me to a lot of different cultures which helps me be able to work with a broad client base. My favourite places so far are Hawaii, Venice and Banff, and next on my list is the UK.


I like sports and played badminton, basketball (even at a towering 5’2”!) and hockey. I still love a good game of road hockey, something that happens regularly in my active and social neighbourhood.


No matter how busy life gets, it’s important to me to make time to see my friends. You can often find us having a bite at the local pub, Millstone Public House,  Bicycle Thief or Ristorante a Mano  (just a couple of my favourites, or doing a wine tour in the spectacular Annapolis Valley. My favourite Nova Scotian winery is Lightfoot and Wolfville – It’s such a beautiful property and I love their Terroir Series Riesling and Flora wines.


A few other tidbits:


  • In 2007, I renovated the Calgary Flames dressing room.

  • I broke down the door of a burning house to save my neighbour’s dog.

  • I’ve never had a pet but am soon getting my first puppy.


Well, that’s me in a nutshell. I’m an open book, and what you see is what you get. Even with the complications life is throwing at me these days (more on that next time), I am proud of who I am today: A strong, independent Cape Breton woman who has found her way to balance family, life and a rocking career.

Dartmouth

7 Mellor Avenue, Unit 1,
Dartmouth, NS, B3B 0E8
Phone: (902) 468-3400

Halifax

6363 Lady Hammond Rd,
Halifax, NS, B3K 2S2
Phone: (902) 453-9300

Sackville

512-536 Sackville Drive,
Lower Sackville, NS, B4C 2R8
Phone: (902) 865-6100

Windsor

141 Wentworth Road
Windsor, NS B0N 2T0
Phone: (902) 798-5200

RE/MAX nova

Offices

Stay in Touch

902-478-0991

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

2020 Dawna Candelora All Rights Reserved. |  Halifax, Dartmouth, Sackville and Bedford real estate agent.

-​Site created by Halifax Real Estate Photography